2019 Victorian Parliament House Metropolitan School Visit.

These visits will take place for an hour and a half beginning at 10am. Children can eat their snack before 10 or after 11:30

Dates

Grade

Dates

Grade

Mon 11th February

5H

Mon 25th February

6K

Tues 12th February

5F

Tue 26th February

6L

Wed 13th February

5CW

Wed 27th February

5L

Thu 14th February

6D

Thu 28th February

6HK

Fri 15th February

6A

Fri 1st March

5D


Welcome Back to Term 1

All of the Year 5 and 6 children returned to school in high spirits and eager to learn. There are a number of new student faces and we welcome these families to Dandenong North.

We also have new and returning staff to the Year 5 and 6 team in 2019.

The Year 5 teachers are Miss Fisher (5F), Miss DiLollo (5D), Miss Laurie (5L), Mrs Hilton (5H), Mrs Wells (M,T,W) and Miss Cadman (W, T, F) (5CW) . However Mrs Wells is on Long Service Leave for Term One – therefore 5CW have the lovely Miss Abouchakra (Miss A) for three days per week.

In Year 6 we have three new team members in Mr Allman (6A), Miss Keane (6HK) and Mrs Kalia (6K) as well as the familiar faces of Miss Ludwig (6L) and Mr Domogala (6D).

For the Year 6 children it is a year of challenges and reflections as they undertake their last year in the Primary School setting. The Year 6 children will also be enjoying a Growth Day being held on Friday 1st February where they will travel to Up Unlimited in Moorabbin to undertake some high ropes, caving and team building activities.

Throughout Term One, students will be developing their political knowledge whilst working on the theme “People Power”. There will also be an incursion held at school and run by Victorian Parliament Education Staff which should be a real insight into politics for our children.

In Years 5 and 6 we promote and encourage nightly reading for all students in Years 5 and 6 with the expectation that student diaries will be signed nightly by parents and returned to school daily to indicate that they have read.

We look forward to another productive term in Years 5 and 6!